Search results for

Search

Please note, search results include issues May/June 2020 and later. Search prior issues

Ulrich Laemmli’s Development of SDS Polyacrylamide Gel Electrophoresis

Jonathan King Department of Biology Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MA 02139 jaking@mit.edu One of the most widely used and important techniques in modern biology is SDS polyacrylamide gel electrophoresis....

Vol. XXXIII No. 3January/February 2021

Opus Test

Reactive Cysteines in P22 Tailspike Folding

Susan K. Sather Graduate Student in King Lab from Spring 1989 through Summer 1993 sksather@yahoo.com Meeting Jon I met Jon for the first time when he gave a talk to...

Insights From Aggregation Intermediates

Margaret Speed Ricci* *Amgen Inc One Amgen Center Drive Thousand Oaks, CA 91320 mspeed@amgen.com My story begins more than half a lifetime ago in the 1991-1996 timeframe. As a Course...

Don’t Fall in Love with Your Hypothesis

Dessy Raytcheva Department of Biology, COS Northeastern University 134 Mugar, 203A 360 Huntington Ave Boston, MA 02115 desislava.raytcheva@gmail.com I was part of the King’s lab family from 2006 until 2012....

A Marine Photosynthetic Pair: Synechococcus WH8109 and Cyanophage Syn5

Jacqueline Piret, PhD j.piret@northeastern.edu I had the good fortune to spend time in the King Lab as a visitor from across the river. I had earned my Ph.D. (1981) at...

Protein Folding and Aggregation, Mentoring, and a Molecular Food Recipe

Anna Mitraki Professor at the Department of Materials Science and Technology University of Crete and affiliated Research Scientist at IESL, FORTH Greece mitraki@materials.uoc.gr Alexander the Great in a historical statement,...

Developing Human gD-crystallins as an Experimental System for Studying Beta Sheet Folding and Cataract FormationM

Melissa Kosinski-Collins Melissa S. Kosinski-Collins, Ph.D. Professor of Biology Brandeis University MS 008, SSC 016A Waltham, MA 02454 kosinski@brandeis.edu The first time I met Jonathan, I was 21. I was...

Science is Collaborative and Communication is Key: Lessons from my Postdoc in the King Lab

Kelly Knee King lab postdoc 2007-2011 Director of Translational Medicine, Rare Disease Research Unit, Pfizer Inc. 32 Bartlett Crescent, Brookline MA, 02446 Kelly.Knee@pfizer.com There are a number of things that...

Bacteriophage P22 Scaffolding Protein (the Ghost in the Shell)

Barrie (Greene) Bell Graduate Student, 1990-1995 barriebell@comcast.net I first met Professor Jonathan King when I took his class on “The Protein Folding Problem” during my first year of graduate school...
1 2 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 25 26